In collaboration with the International Elias Canetti Society, the Ruse municipality in 2005 endowed the biennial literature prize in the name of Elias Canetti.

The literature prize is being awarded for a work which has been published (poetry and fiction) or premiered (drama) during the time since the bestowal of the preceding literature prize. The National Literature Prize “Elias Canetti” is named after the Ruse-born Nobel Prize laureate. It includes a prize money of 5,000 leva and as well as the bestowal of a diploma.

The entire regulations for the prize are to be found on the website of the community of Ruse as well as in the cultural department of the community on Tsaribrod Street 3, 7000 Ruse. Applications will be judged by two juries. The first jury nominates ten applications, the second jury nominates the winner.

The prize is being handed over within a ceremony on November, 1st.


2005 Konstantin Iliev: “Die Niederlage” (Konstantin Iliev’s Elias Canetti Prize speech)

2007 Alek Popov: “Die Hunde fliegen tief” (Alek Popov’s Elias Canetti Prize speech)

2009 Ivaila Alexandrova: “Hot Red” (Ivaila Alexandrova’s Elias Canetti Prize speech)

2011 Galin Nikiforov: “The House of the Clown”

2013 Milen Ruskov: “Vasvischenie” (fiction)

2013 Georgi Tenev (writer) und Ivan Dobtschev (director): “Return to Wittenberg” (drama)